Mayor’s Cup Spring Festival Dragon Boat Race in CDO draws 17 teams, 636 paddlers

Seventeen (17) teams composed of 636 paddlers coming from Cagayan de Oro, Davao, Iligan, General Santos, Zamboanga, Negros and Manila will be participating in the upcoming Mayor’s Cup Spring Festival Dragon Boat Race set this weekend, January 21-22, 2023. Organized by Dragon Boat Kagay-an, the race is part of the highlights of the Chinese New Year Festival in Cagayan de Oro City and will be the first major event this year beside the new river boulevard.

The competing teams are as follows.

  1. Kampilan Dragon Boat (Davao)
  2. RMMC Bluefins Dragon Boat Team (GenSan)
  3. Brgy Carmen Dragon Boat Team (CDO)
  4. Universidad de Zamboanga, Wildcats Paddlers Dragon Boat Team (Zamboanga)
  5. Speed Devilz (Manila)
  6. Gladiators Davao (Davao)
  7. Ricspeed (Davao)
  8. San Jose Banatti (Negros)
  9. Dumaguete Yellowfins (Dumaguete)
  10. CGY Oro Dragons (CDO)
  11. Samal Dragons (Davao)
  12. Amihan (Davao)
  13. Philippine Army Dragon Warriors (Manila)
  14. BraveDogs (CDO)
  15. Dalipuga Dragons (Iligan)
  16. United Dragonhearts (Negros)
  17. Hydra Riders (Davao-CDO)
photo by Jouie Tabilin

The Dragon Boat Race will have the following race categories.

  • Standard Open 300m​
  • Standard Mixed 300m 24 and Under
  • Standard Mixed 300m Premier
  • Standard Mixed 300m Masters
  • Standard Mixed Novelty Race

Keep posted.

Leave a Reply